What are the several types of millets?

Millets are available in different sizes and shapes. It can be divided into two broad categories: pearl millet and “small” millet. Besides these, there are many other kinds as well. Proso millet is also kind of its own. Pearl millet (Pennisetum glaucum, P.typhoides, P.tyhpideum, P.americanum) is the most widely grown of all millets. It is also known as vajra, cumbia, bulrush millet, babala, dukun, gero, sajje, senior, or sauna. Finger millet (Eleusine coracana), known as ragi in India, is another important staple food in Eastern Africa and India, Nepal. Proso or Common millet (Panicum miliaceum) is grown in temperate climates. It is widely cultivated in Australia, the Russian Federation, the United States, Ukraine, Kazakhstan, and Argentina.

This entry was posted in . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply